A.E. Arbuzov Institute of Organic and Physical Chemistry

Subdivision of the Federal State Budgetary Institution of Science "Kazan Scientific Center of Russian Academy of Sciences"

The International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorous chemistry

July 11, 1997, on the eve of the 120th anniversary of academician Alexander . Arbuzov, outstanding chemist, the Creator of a new branch of chemistry - chemistry of organophosphorus compounds, President of Tatarstan Mintimer Shaimiev signed a Decree on the establishment of the International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorus chemistry.



(Russian federation) (1956)

Full Member of Russian Academy of Sciences (Academician of RAS), Professor of Chemistry
Director of the Federal Research Center “Kazan Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences”








Oleg Sinyashin is an outstanding scientist in the field of organic and elementorganic chemistry, author and co-author of more than 800 scientific publications.
His most important achievements in the field of organophosphorus chemistry are following:
1. Fundamental results in the synthesis, structure and reactivity of trivalent phosphorus compounds and their application in coordination, organometallic, and medical chemistry have been obtained, including their use in the creation of the most important types of
catalysts, sensors, fluorescent materials and molecular magnets.
2. The scientific basis of highly efficient and environmentally safe (chlorine-free) technology of electrosynthesis of the most important classes of phosphorus compounds were created: organic phosphites, phosphates, pyrophosphates, tertiary phosphines and hypophosphoric
acid, based on elemental phosphorus.
3. A significant contribution was made to the development of organic chemistry of fullerenes, including the synthesis of fullerenes with phosphorus – containing functional substituents – promising elements of compositions for organic nanoelectronics.
For many years Professor Oleg Sinyashin heads the Kazan Organophosphorus School.
Oleg Sinyashin is the winner of many scientific awards, including the prizes of the Russian Academy of Sciences: named after A. N. Nesmeyanov (2015) and L. A. Chugaev (2018). He was elected the Honorary Professor of St. Petersburg State University and the Mendeleev
Reader in 2017. He is Laureate of the State Prize of the Republic of Tatarstan in the field of science and technology.