A.E. Arbuzov Institute of Organic and Physical Chemistry

Subdivision of the Federal State Budgetary Institution of Science "Kazan Scientific Center of Russian Academy of Sciences"

The International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorous chemistry

July 11, 1997, on the eve of the 120th anniversary of academician Alexander . Arbuzov, outstanding chemist, the Creator of a new branch of chemistry - chemistry of organophosphorus compounds, President of Tatarstan Mintimer Shaimiev signed a Decree on the establishment of the International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorus chemistry.


Edgar Niecke (Germany) (1939)
Professor of Chemistry, Director of the Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Universiry of Bonn

Edgar Niecke is one of the most well-known chemists of the XX century and founders of the modern organophosphorus chemistry schoolin Germany.
His primary research concerns the development of molecular compounds having phosphorus-element-(π-π)-bonds and, thus, phosphorus in low coordination. Experimental and theoretical structure and reactivity studies were carried out on abroad variety of systems such as iminophosphanes (behaving as singlet carbenes), phosphaalkenes, bis(ylene)phosphoranes, phosphaallylic and phosphacarbenoid systems, monomeric metaphosphate analogues, as well as other unconventional compounds such as iminophosphenium and methylenediylphosphenium cations.The discovery of stable E- and Z-diphosphenes and the characterization of umbrella­ shaped species are worthy of specialattention.
His current activities are focused on two research fields:
1. Design of tridentalhybrid ligands with low-coordinated phosphorus centers for the synthesis of novel macrocycles containing ligands with discriminative functionalities and redox activities and
2. Chemistry of unique stable diradical phosphorus heterocyclic systems, 1,3- diphosphetane-2,4-diyls, which are enabled to react as crypto-carbenes and/or can undergo mesolytic fragmentations. A Long term perspective of the latter research is to develop the chemistry of phosphorus-containing polyradicals as non-metallic magnets.