A.E. Arbuzov Institute of Organic and Physical Chemistry

Subdivision of the Federal State Budgetary Institution of Science "Kazan Scientific Center of Russian Academy of Sciences"

The International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorous chemistry

July 11, 1997, on the eve of the 120th anniversary of academician Alexander . Arbuzov, outstanding chemist, the Creator of a new branch of chemistry - chemistry of organophosphorus compounds, President of Tatarstan Mintimer Shaimiev signed a Decree on the establishment of the International Arbuzovs Prize in the field of organophosphorus chemistry.



Francois Mathey (France) (1941)
President of the French Chemical Society, Member of the Academy of Sciences of Paris, Professor of Chemistry in the Ecological Polytechnic Institute and the National Center on Scientific Investigations in Paris

Francois Mathey is well known authority in organophosphorus chemistry. F. Mathey has authored about 500 papers and 32 patents; mainly he has contributed to the development of phosphorus-carbon heterocyclic chemistry.
He has performed for the first time the synthesis of phosphirene ring,developed the chemistry of 2H-phospholes, 1-phosphanorbornadienes, phosphinines, polyphosphorus macrocycles with planar phosphorus atoms. He has synthesized numerous ƞ5-phospha-cyclopentadienyl complexes with group III to IX transition metals. He has started to develop the chemistry of electrophilic terminal phosphinidene complexes, behaving as singlet carbenes. Another significant contribution is the synthesis of compounds with P=C double bonds from carbonyl derivatives via the phospha-Wittig reaction. The use of phosphaferrocenes in asymmetric catalysis and phosphazirconocenes in polymerization catalysis is currently under his active investigation.
Francois Mathey is the member of a few of international scientific societies including the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) and the European Academy of Sciences. He has received the Alexander von Humboldt award,the Silver Medalof CNRS, the Main Group Chemistry award and many others. Francois Mathey is the editor-in-chief of the Journal "Heteroatom Chemistry''.